Volunteer Reviews

Name: Charity B. McDonald
Date: November 13, 2017
Address: United Kingdom
Project: Buddhist Monastery Teaching Volunteer

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

My volunteering assignment has been a humbling and wonderful experience.

I may have shared my time and knowledge to the small Lamas (monks) at the Buddhist Monastery. But I gained much knowledge and wisdom from them. It was beautiful and I had so much fun! It was more that what I expected.

The great support from country co-coordinator and his team and their efficient leadership I received is highly commendable.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Name: Lena Alexandra Roll
Date: May 19, 2017
Address: United Kingdom
Project: Volunteer in wildlife (elephant) conservation

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

Volunteering at the Nepal childcare center was such a privilege and the experience was incredible. In just two weeks, I was able to meet and bond with so many kind-hearted and genuine people, and I am forever thankful for this. I feel as though receiving a host family and volunteering at the orphanage gave me a wholesome experience and they allowed me to explore the beautiful Nepal. Thank you FDIP, my heart is filled with bliss.

Name: Selina Andrea Kohl
Date: May 26, 2017
Address:Germany
Project: Buddhist Monastery Teaching Volunteer

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

Your program gave me the invaluable experience of volunteering at a monastery, where I met incredible young individuals, who have inspired me with their enthusiasm and intelligence. The other volunteers at the monastery were also super kind and nice, especially my friend, Carolyn, from Hong Kong!!

I had an extremely positive time volunteering with your program. I would definitely recommend working with this program to others. Thank you for the great experience.

All that I have learnt here, be it from the kids, the monks or the very friendly Nepali people, makes me want to come back and visit the country and its locals again !!

Name: Emily Bush
Date: November 12, 2017
Address: United Kingdom
Project: Childcare Volunteer

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

I have found my experience with the program to be really enjoyable and it was very easy to fit into the routine of volunteering at the Childcare Center, as well as communicate with everyone about any other plan I had during my 3 weeks here. I spent lots of time playing games and doing art with the children, which I think helped to develop their English at the same time. I was also involved with helping with the English documents at the center and social media fundraising and awareness post which made me feel that I was making a more lasting impact on the center. In terms of other ways to improve the center, it would have been nice if I could have had a bit more direction from the center staff as to what I could be doing to help improve the center while the children were at school. Overall, I have to see lots of amazing parts of Kathmandu and felt I did make an impact on the center :)

Name: Tabitha Hearn
Date: May 19, 2017
Address: USA
Project: Childcare Volunteer

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

Nepal is amazing. This has been a wonderful experience for me and I’m so thankful to have been able to come here and surround myself with these outstanding children!

Name: Margarida Brazao
Date: December-01, 2018
Address: Portugal
Project: Monastery Teaching Volunteer Project

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

This was one of the best experiences in my life. I had a true local experience. I made new friends and I spent so much time with the little nuns.

The only not so good thing about the project was that there were so many volunteers in the monastery and not so many classes to teach. This made the class planning more difficult because there usually were 3 or more volunteers in one classroom. But volunteering requires flexibility so we tried our best to come up with creative solutions. Nepali people are super warm and welcoming.

Name: Shakheela Gurung
Date: August 15-26, 2015
Address: United Kingdom
Project: Volunteer in wildlife (elephant) conservation

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

All the FDIP staffs were great, they provided us all the information before arrival which was worthwhile. The service was excellent and all the staffs were very approachable and friendly, always contacted for our safety and wellbeing even when we were out is the project field. They look great care of us.

Had one of the best experiences. Real Time Experiences and Stories and Volunteer Abroad Program Reviews Directly From Participants.

Name:Rekha Tamang
Date: August 15-26, 2015
Address: United Kingdom
Project: Volunteer in wildlife (elephant) conservation

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

I had a wonderful time at Sauraha, Chitwan. I am feeling so sad to leave them. I think FDIP does great things and I am proud to have been a small part of it. Had really excellent service from the staff from KTM- Chitwan, it felt like home. ? Had really good experience with the people we met. They were all friendly and very hard working. Me and my friend made new friends here, called 'Mayakali' and 'Mayawati' , elephant Maximus, such sweethearts. Really gonna miss them.

Name: Joe Bartley
Date: April 19, 2017
Address: United Kingdom
Project: Volunteering for Orphanage

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

I can't thank the organization enough for the experience they gave me. In my three month programme there has not been a day where I didn't feel part of a family and looked after as if I as grown up with them. They was always prepared to help me with any problems or queries.

They have cooked food every night tasted incredible and the family very quickly made me feel at home and looked after. This is a feeling I will never forget. Working every day at the orphanage was amazing. The children made sure they would keep me on my toes and keep me fit. They are such wonderful kids and even though I was there to help and teach them. What I received back in return is more than I could ever imagined. I was their older brother and that's something I'm very proud to be able to say. The staff also did everything they could to make me feel welcome and I never once felt alone or out of place due to the hospitability they showed me. The past three months have been the most wonderful time of my life and I owe all the family, the children and Narayan and his organization. Words won't do justice to how much it has changed me for the good. Thank you once again for everything.

Name: Lammert Lettinga
Date: December 10, 2016
Address: Netherlands
Project: Volunteering in Monastery

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

Teaching English to the child/junior monks at the Aarubari Monastery has been an interesting, inspiring and educational experience for me. I only hope mu pupils experienced it the same way. The atmosphere in the monastery was very welcoming, peaceful and enjoyable and so were the people in it. At times, it was challenging to keep the kids in line by using only positive feedback and enthusiasm (because they see and undergo enough violence in their lives) but I think me and other volunteers have found a nice balance to make lessons entertaining, engaging as well as educational. It has been very rewarding to see how much progress they've made in the three weeks I got to teach them.

Name: Manuel Magalhaes
Date: June 17, 2016
Address: Portugal
Project: Volunteer in medical and healthcare center

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

The staff and host were outstanding. Made us really feel as part of the family. Always available to help us, guide us and advise us.

The project location was in a very nice hospital prepared for whatever was needed for the patients and all the team was very welcoming and helpful.

I felt the cardiac team was very interested in knowing my experience and ideas as aa surgeon. I was able to participate in meetings, presentations, surgeries and work with the team.

The only improvement it be made would be the fast inspection and precautions work in the operating theatre. Some of the medical staff did not know why or how we were working in that hospital.

But it was an amazing experience.

Name: Zev Orzy
Date: March 18, 2017
Address: Canada
Project: Volunteer in Monastery

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

It was certainly a challenge and it wasn't always easy, but it has a great learning experience for me. I was very grateful for both the opportunity and hospitality, I was given by Sameer, Narayan and the Kadampa Monastery.

Name: Gal Gelbard
Date: March 09, 2017
Address: Israel
Project: Volunteer for Orphanage

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

Amazing! Sameer & his mom were so hospitable and friendly! I felt so comfortable and I am so grateful to have stayed with them. I also thoroughly enjoyed the orphanage. the kids were great and Kamal was very informative and kind. I would extend this project if I could!

Name: Bani Antonio Aguirre
Date: December 29, 2016
Address: Mexico
Project: Medical Volunteer

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

In my experience, it was a great chance to learn and gain medical skills. I also enjoy getting into culture and life style, surrounded by lovely and caring people. Every single person that I've meet, patients, my family, friends they marked me and will always have space in my heart and home. I ended up gaining more than I gave.

Name: Laurie Poirier
Date: April 20, 2016
Address: Montreal, Canada
Project: Psychological counseling

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

Great response time from your staff Narayan, and outstanding hospitality!

The honesty was very close to all important location (ex. volunteering place). The volunteer experience was more enriching them I would’ve even imagined. My host family welcomed me as their own, and become my second family. I was able to travel through Nepal and experience the culture first-hand with the help of Narayan and FDIP. I will recommend everyone to volunteer with FDIP please continue to privilege experience and sharing knowledge above anything.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Laurie p.

Name: Antonia Bozzolo
Date:: 25th February 2018
Address: Las Condes, Chile
Project: School Teaching, Kathmandu

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

I had a very good teaching and learning experience. I felt comfortable in my host family’s house and at school, since everybody around would do the efforts to make me informed and happy.

Being able to apply my teaching skills in such a different setting has given me a lot of experience.

Name: Elpidio Rafanan
Date: March 18 – April 9, 2018
Address:CA,USA
Project: Volunteer in Monastery

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

I had an amazing experience. I was able to experience monastery life and did what I intended –teach young boys English. I arrived in Kathmandu 10pm and by that time, the monastery was closed. My program coordinator Narayan was kind enough to find me an accommodation for the night. Narayan also brought me to a Hindu temple Pashupati to visit which was an enriching sideline to my project. Overall, I would recommend this project to those who feel a need to give back and the world community.

Elpidio

Name: Mackenzie Barry Armstrong
Date: 06 March 2018
Address: Canada
Project: Volunteer in Monastery

How would you rate the followings during your volunteering experience with FDIP ?

  •  
  • Staff Attitude
  • Accommodation/Meal
  • Quality of service
  • Response times
  • Project locations
  • Project environment
  • Project impact and effectiveness
  • Excellent
  •  

  •  

  • Good
  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  •  

  • Average
  • Poor

Please share your experience with FDIP program

Although I could only spend 1week, it was still life changing nonetheless. I have a new found confidence in myself and I do intend on returning to Nepal when the time is right.

Thank you very much!